Innovation and Leadership celebrated at 2024 Disability Support Awards

By Tessa Harding

Brand Engagement Manager

Two Therapy Focus clinicians have been recognised for their commitment to supporting people with disability at the 2024 Disability Support Awards.

Regional Services Coordinator, Richard Murdoch, and Senior Speech Pathologist, Kelly Scott, received nominations in the ‘Emerging Leader’ and ‘Innovation in Service Delivery’ categories respectively.

Richard and Kelly attended an awards ceremony at Crown Ballroom on Saturday 12 May alongside Therapy Focus CEO Alison Kelly, Directors Ann Dawson and Matthew Felton, and members of the Senior Management Team.

Kelly was selected as a finalist in her category in recognition of her work developing Therapy Focus’ Gaming Therapy Program, which helps neurodiverse children and adults connect through a shared love of gaming.

Kelly Scott - 2024 Disability Support Awards Finalist

An excerpt from Kelly’s nomination highlighted her passion for neuro-affirming practice.

Kelly is a true advocate for neuro-affirming practice, which is evidenced by the time she invests in researching new and innovative therapy service delivery methods, such as Gaming Therapy groups.

Her dedication to this area has seen her present workshops and keynote presentations as part of Therapy Focus’ professional development days, and through a webinar for parents and carers of Autistic children as part of a collaboration with Kiind.

Reflecting on the ceremony, Therapy Focus CEO Alison Kelly said, “The disability sector is full of humble, hard-working, and committed people, and Therapy Focus is no exception. We were delighted to see Kelly and Richard celebrated for their achievements – they are both winners in our eyes.”

“Another highlight of the evening was witnessing the joyful relationships that exist between people with disability and the people in their support networks. It’s a timely reminder of why we love what we do.”

The annual awards are hosted by National Disability Services WA and proudly supported by the State Government, through the Department of Communities. To learn more go to You can also find the list of winners here.